



Māori Land Update – Ngā Āhuatanga o te whenua

June 2024 | Hune 2024

This update is issued by the Office of the Chief Registrar, Māori Land Court | Te Kooti Whenua Māori as part of the ongoing efforts to help inform and assist owners, organisations and government agencies about the characteristics of Māori Customary and Māori Freehold Land.

Māori Customary Land Titles:

•		
Rohe	#	Area (ha)
Taitokerau	5	38.5573
Waikato-Maniapoto	14	48.2919
Waiariki	2	453.2479
Tairāwhiti	2	4.8688
Tākitimu	1	0.2124
Aotea	15	659.1240
Te Waipounamu	0	0.0000
Total	39	1,204.3023

Māori Freehold Land Titles:

Rohe	#	Area (ha)
Taitokerau	5,492	138,991.2467
Waikato-Maniapoto	3,786	123,900.0378
Waiariki	5,208	305,667.7757
Tairāwhiti	5,383	269,112.0017
Tākitimu	1,434	88,093.2990
Aotea	4,051	412,189.5239
Te Waipounamu	2,325	66,129.6711
Total	27,679	1,404,083.5559

Management Structures

(Note: This includes management structure types of Ahu Whenua Trusts, Whenua Tōpū Trusts, Pūtea Trusts, Māori Incorporations, Māori Reservations and Other trusts)

Rohe	# Structures	# Blks with Structures	# Blks without Structures	Area vested (ha)	Area not vested (ha)
Taitokerau	1,349	1,537	4,135	82,938.3557 (58%)	60,109.3005 (42%)
Waikato-Maniapoto	1,458	1,751	2,246	98,480.5154 (77%)	29,363.0164 (23%)
Waiariki	2,437	2,588	2,815	289,087.9912 (89%)	34,585.2575 (11%)
Tairāwhiti	1,504	1,916	3,653	234,282.9522 (82%)	51,262.8941 (18%)
Tākitimu	630	766	741	76,332.6160 (83%)	15,170.9588 (17%)
Aotea	1,319	2,283	2,055	441,396.2020 (92%)	38,810.6386 (8%)
Te Waipounamu	627	1,453	973	55,805.2758 (68%)	26,495.8837 (32%)
Total	9,324	12,294	16,618	1,278,323.9083 (83%)	255,797.9496 (17%)

Other Statistics

- Blocks with a management structure have an average size of 112.84ha and average 207 beneficial owners;
- Blocks without a management structure have an average size of 15.39ha and average 45

 owners:
- Overall an average Māori land block has a size of 53.06ha and 114 owners; and
- The total number of allocated ownership records recorded in all blocks is 3,287,810

Management Structure Details

Rohe	Total	Māori Incorporations	Ahu Whenua Trusts	Māori Reservations	Whenua Tōpū Trusts	Pūtea Trusts	Other Trusts
Taitokerau	1,349	16	603	712	1		17
Waikato-Maniapoto	1,458	16	1,087	315	6	1	33
Waiariki	2,437	30	1,771	581	8	1	46
Tairāwhiti	1,504	62	1,126	282	4		30
Tākitimu	630	7	460	146	4		13
Aotea	1,319	23	903	361	11		21
Te Waipounamu	627	10	475	133	2		7
Total	9,324	164	6,425	2,530	36	2	167

The total number of Whānau Trusts nationally is 12,171 The total number of Kaitiaki Trusts nationally is 2,453

Exclusion List

The following land types have been excluded from this update:

- Crown Land, Crown Land Reserved for Māori, Other, General Land owned by Māori (a total of 448 blocks covering an area of 23,448.6384 ha); and
- Blocks pending internal review and investigation (a total of 220 blocks covering an area of 5,202.3754 ha)

Copyright and Disclaimer

© Crown Copyright 2024

This annual update was produced by the Office of the Chief Registrar, Māori Land Court, Ministry of Justice, Wellington, New Zealand on 30 June 2024 and is intended to provide general information only. Whilst all reasonable measures have been taken to ensure the quality and accuracy of this information, the Ministry of Justice makes no warranty, express or implied, nor assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, correctness, completeness or use of any information contained herein.

This update should be read in conjunction with our standard disclaimer available on our website at https://www.justice.govt.nz/about-this-site/disclaimer-and-terms-of-use/